Department of

About The Department


The Department of Physics was initiated in 1989 as a separate department. It was a result of several reorganizations of 'The Department of Physics and Mathematics' which was founded in 1926 along with the School of Mines. Excellence in research and teaching has always been a hallmark of the department.


The department currently offers various academic programs at the undergraduate and postgraduate level which include, the undergraduate program of B. Tech in Engineering Physics, graduate program of Master of Science in Physics, and Ph.D. in Physics. In addition to these programs, we regularly offer several core and elective physics courses to the engineering and science students from all the other Departments of the Institute.


The department is actively involved in research across frontier areas of Physics that involve both fundamental and applied sciences including interdisciplinary avenues. We perform active research spanning the complexities of space and time, light-matter interactions, and the world of quantum information, interactions and materials. The broad areas of research include Solid state physics, Thin film science and technology, Mineral physics, Biomedical physics, Nano science, Fiber optics, Theoretical physics and Atomic, molecular and laser physics. More details can be found on our faculty webpages.


View All


Prof. Bobby Kachappilly Antony
Head of the Department
HOD Desk
Phone: 0326-223-5282 (O)
Phone: 0326-223-5282 (O)
Indian Institute of Technology
(Indian School of Mines) Dhanbad,Dhanbad- 826004 ,Jharkhand, India

Copyright @ IIT (ISM) Dhanbad

Accessibility Tools